On Fiddlers' green

Jag var och köpte tidningen idag, för Annaas dödsannons. Och i annonsen fanns delar av den här sångens text. Annaas barn är mycket kloka.

Fiddlers' Green
Fo'c'sle Song
av John Connolly

As I roved by the dockside one evening so rare,
To view the still waters and take the salt air –
I heard an old fisherman, singing this song -
“Oh, take me away, boys, me time is not long”

Dress me up in me oilskins and jumper –
No more on the docks I’ll be seen –
Just tell me old shipmates, I’m taking a trip, mates,
And I’ll see you some day, in Fiddlers’ Green …

Now, Fiddlers’ Green is a place, I’ve heard tell,
Where fishermen go if they don’t go to Hell –
Where the weather is fair, and the dolphins do play –
And the cold coast of Greenland is far, far away …

The sky’s always clear, and there’s never a gale –
And the fish jump on board with a flip of their tails –
You can lie at your leisure, there’s no work to do –
And the Skipper’s below, making tea for the crew …

And when you’re in dock, and the long trip is through –
There’s pubs and there’s clubs, and there’s lasses there too –
The girls are all pretty, the beer is all free –
And there’s bottles of rum, growing on every tree …

I don’t want a harp nor a halo, not me –
Just give me a breeze and a good rolling sea –
And I’ll play me old squeezebox as we sail along –
With the wind in the rigging, to sing me this song …


Här är  en liveföreställning med the Dubliners från 1980, där Barney McKenna ser helt häpnadsväckande ung ut. OK, det är ju 31 år sen, men ändå.

 

Texten på norska har sin egen, väldigt speciella, tjusning.


Kommentarer
Postat av: Monika

Så fint!

2012-01-27 @ 20:38:25
Postat av: Ullah

Verkligen ett bra val av text. Varje gång jag sätter mig vid datorn tänker jag att det skall finnas någon ny text av Annaa, att hon skall dyka upp igen och säga att allt bara var ett missförstånd.

2012-01-28 @ 12:57:47
Postat av: Evis

Ja, jag också.

2012-01-28 @ 13:34:53
URL: http://omstil.blogg.se/
Postat av: cruella

Rysningar på ett underbart vis, mitt i sorgligheten. Väldigt fint.

2012-01-30 @ 17:35:52
URL: http://minkammare.blogspot.com/
Postat av: cruella

Och fuchsian. De där täta häckarna när man kör västerut är ett av mina starkaste minnen från första tiden på Irland.

2012-01-30 @ 17:40:37

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0